Latest Tweets

Ah, Africa!

Home to Jo’burg and Pretoria, Gauteng Province in South Africa tempts with its colourful palette

Situated in the heart of the Highveld, Gauteng is the smallest province of South Africa’s nine provinces. Occupying only 1.4 per cent of the land area, it is highly urbanised and includes the cities of Johannesburg and Pretoria.

Gauteng has a sophisticated economy, developed infrastructure, an established film industry – and an incredibly diverse filming locations. This range includes the urban and industrial landscapes of Johannesburg, the province’s biggest city and the economic powerhouse of Africa, to gold mines, small towns, nature reserves and botanical gardens, monuments, historical buildings and the majestic Magaliesberg mountain range.

This is where the modern and the ancient meet as one of the world’s most dense, highrise urban centres gives way to the Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, with its pristine cave formations, undulating savannah grassland and scenic mountain vistas.

Gauteng is the economic engine room of Africa, generating 10 per cent of the continent’s total gross domestic product, and a third of South Africa’s GDP. Home to corporate South Africa and a host of major multinational companies, it is a world financial centre with the Johannesburg Securities Exchange at its heart.

Over the years, an impressive array of major international events has been held in the province, including the United Nations World Summit on Sustainable Development, Rugby World Cup, Cricket World Cup and 2010 Fifa World Cup. Johannesburg’s Soccer City stadium hosted the opening and closing ceremonies of Fifa’s football extravaganza, and a total of 21 matches were played in Gauteng’s three major stadia.Gauteng offers easy and convenient access to the rest of the region. Within two hours’ flying time is the Okavango delta, the Victoria Falls, the Cape winelands, the tropical beaches of Maputo, the arid desert of Namibia, the Kruger National Park as well as the magnificent Drakensberg range of mountains.


Also known as Jozi, Jo’burg or Egoli, Johannesburg is the largest city in South Africa, by population. It is the provincial capital of Gauteng and the wealthiest province in South Africa, with the largest economy of any metropolitan region in Sub-Saharan Africa. The city is one of the 40 largest metropolitan areas in the world, and is also the world’s largest city not situated on a river, lake, or a coastline. It claims to be the lightning capital of the world.


Pretoria is located in the northern part of Gauteng Province. It is one of the country’s three capital cities, serving as the executive. Pretoria is popularly known as The Jacaranda City due to the thousands of Jacaranda trees planted in its streets, parks and gardens.


Gauteng’s southern border is the Vaal River, which separates it from the other states. It also borders on North-West to the West, Limpopo to the North, and Mpumalanga to the East. Gauteng is the only landlocked province of South Africa without a foreign border. Most of Gauteng is on a high-altitude grassland. Between Johannesburg and Pretoria, there are low, parallel ridges and undulating hills, a part of the Magaliesberg Mountains and the Witwatersrand. The north of the province is more sub-tropical, due to its lower altitude and it is mostly dry savanna habitat.


The climate is mainly influenced by altitude. Even though the province is at a sub-tropical latitude, the climate is comparatively cooler, especially in Johannesburg, which is at 1,700 m above sea level and Pretoria at 1,330 m. Most precipitation occurs as brief afternoon thunderstorms. However, relative humidity never becomes uncomfortable. Winters are crisp and dry with frost occurring often in the southern areas. Snow is rare but it has occurred on some occasions in the Johannesburg metropolitan area.Johannesburg averages: January maximum: 26 °C with minimum 15 °C, June maximum: 16 °C with minimum min: 4 °CPretoria averages: January maximum: 29 °C with minimum 18 °C, June maximum: 19 °C with minimum 5 °C

Filming Permits

Film crews are always required to obtain film permits when filming in public spaces such as streets, pavements, sidewalks and government-owned buildings. These permits are issued by local councils in the regions or areas where shoots take place. The Gauteng Film Commission (GFC) recommends that filmmakers apply for permission at least 14 working days before filming is due to start. The GFC will also help identify suitable filming locations – generic or scenic.


Gauteng offers attractive incentive schemes, including those offered by the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Industrial Development Corporation (IDC) and National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF). The South African Revenue Services (Sars) also offers a tax rebate.

Department of Trade and Industry

The DTI offers incentives to increase local content generation and improve location competitiveness for foreign film productions. Foreign Film Production Incentive attracts foreign-based film productions to shoot on location, not only in Gauteng but in the entire South African region.

Industrial Development Corporation

The IDC offers the following financing facilities:• Equity Investment, involving direct investment in a project in the form of ordinary and/or preference equity ownership and participation of up to 49 per cent (minority interest), as the IDC does not seek control or direct management participation.• Commercial Loan/Debt Finance: Term loans up to six years are structured to fit the business cash flow profile (ie, asset-based finance and working capital). Owners’ contribution is required for adequate financial structuring of the project.• Venture Loans (quasi-equity): Minority interest in high-risk ventures with high financial returns and developmental impact. Funding for films is available from the IDC.

Anonymous's picture