Latest Tweets

Transilvania International Film Festival

June 2-11, 2016

Cluj-Napoca, Romania

What’s It All About?

Founded in 2002, in the town of Cluj-Napoca, Romania, the Transilvania International Film Festival (TIFF) has grown rapidly to become the most important film-related event in Romania and one of the most spectacular annual events in the region.

The festival has a competition for first- and second-time directors. The 16th edition’s selection focuses on ‘Life’s Truths And Fiction’s Dares’, thus tagging the ‘truth or dare’ approach to discovering or promoting promising new voices in cinema.

Seven of the 12 films in the competition this year hail from Europe, but Australia, the Middle East and South America are also represented. Over the years, TIFF’s Lifetime Achievement Award has been presented to important figures of European and worldwide cinema, and this year, the award will be bestowed on European film icon, and one of the world’s most iconic actors Alain Delon, who celebrates six decades since his cinema debut. The festival will award Delon at the closing gala, on June 10. In his honour, the festival will host a special screening of his 1981 film Pour La Peau D’un Flic (For A Cop’s Hide).

The festival dedicates a retrospective to French director Jean-Pierre Melville, considered the forerunner of the French New Wave and the one who wrote an unrepeatable chapter in the history of cinema. Cinephiles will have the rare opportunity to view six of the master’s works, as well as six of the best thrillers of European cinema.

 Opening Film

King Of The Belgians: This year, the festival will open with the multi-lingual comedy flick by Peter Brosens and Jessica Woodworth. The film follows the Belgian king and his entourage who get stranded when the French-speaking half of the country declares independence.


Transilvania Trophy – awarded to the best film in the official competition, worth 15,000 Euros (equally divided between the director and the main producer)

Best Director – worth 5,000 Euros (goes to the director of the film)

Special Jury Award – worth 1,500 Euros (goes to the director of the film)

Best Cinematography – worth 1,000 Euros

Best Actor or Actress – worth 1,000 Euros (goes to the awarded actor or actress)

 In Competition

Playground directed by Bartosz Kowalski (Poland)

Glory directed by Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov (Bulgaria/Greece)

Heartstone directed by Gudmundur Arnar Gudmundsson (Iceland)

Hounds of Love directed by Ben Young (Australia)

Zeus directed by Miguel Calderon (Mexico)

Simulation directed by Abed Abest (Iran)

God’s Own Country directed by Francis Lee (UK)

My Happy Family directed by Nana Ekvtimishvili and Simon Gross (Georgia/Germany)

Land of the Little People directed by Yaniv Berman (Israel/Palestine)

Chrysanthemums Time directed by Dmytro Moiseiev (Ukraine)

Dolphins Go East directed by Gonzalo Delgado and Veronica Perrotta (Uruguay/Argentina/Germany)

The One-Eyed King directed by Marc Crehuet (Spain)

  Closing Film

Que Dios Nos Perdone (May God Forgive Us): A Spanish film directed by Rodrigo Sorogoyen, it follows Inspectors Velarde and Alfaro who must find what appears to be a serial killer. This hunt against the clock will make them realise something they’d never thought about: neither one of them is all that different from the killer.

Anonymous's picture